Today I tested fusing gold foil (23.5ct bizarrely!) to sterling silver, a method called Keum boo. Not excited about this technique as I feel there’s not a lot of security in the finish. It cannot be polished after the gold has been fused to the silver as it can flake/tear off. It does look beautiful though and if used well would make a great feature on some silver pieces. I wouldn’t mind testing this out again on an actual piece of jewellery. For now a small piece of silver will do.

3

(Well it looked not bad before I stupidly grabbed it with my grubby hands, then proceeded to scratch away some of the foil! Why hands!?)

4Hot plate was used to heat up the silver. I then used a scalpel to ‘chop’ a piece of gold foil to the required length and placed it on the heated silver using tweezers. With the burnishing tool I smoothed out the gold foil until it fused to the silver and gently pushed out any bubbles underneath the surface.

5

Cleaned up the silver here but of course the damage is done to the gold foil due to my clumsiness. Yeah, need practise!

 

Stevie.

Leave a Reply

