I began tracing shapes I found in the pictures I’d taken in order to transcend my research into a tangible object. (Example below). I managed to find some very interesting shapes in pictures of rock formations and mountain scenes from both my travels to Fuerteventura and Iceland. This is how I began finding potential shapes which I would then layer, rotate and resize, developing these into potential jewellery pieces. I had potential pendant, earring and brooch designs, however, I was mostly drawn to potential brooches.

1

I used the shapes I traced to create a frame for the piece, a good base to build on. I also wanted to add the square forms I’ve been using throughout my work this year so created different square combinations and sizes and layering these over the frame. It was easier to create a final design knowing the specific elements I wanted to include into the final design which was my cube cast element and these square forms. I decided to adapt and build on where I left off with the ‘Sense of Place’ brief.

2124

I used CAD to help bring the frames to life and determine which shapes I most preferred. As for colour, I was torn between grey and yellow. I also looked into using purples being my favourite colour, however, not having had the chance to use it in my current body of work I wasn’t confident in changing this up at this point in the year. I was pulled more towards yellow, as I was using silver and I feel the grey would have blended too much when I was wanting to create a ‘pop’. Therefore, yellow was my colour of choice. I also thought about using keum boo through the development stage, however, I felt this would not mix well with resin. It would be one technique or the other and resin is something I like to add to my work regularly, whereas keum boo I may not visit again anytime soon.

I created copper samples to help determine which of my favourite designs would work well and which to scrap. Some designs look great on paper but do not add up when created so this was a vital step in deciding on what the final piece would look like and how it would be put together.

 

Final design choice to follow.

Stevie.

3 thoughts on “Graded Unit – Development

  1. I really like this, to see your process, also I love squares and straight lines. I am a contemporary jewellery artist. I took my bachelor at Konstfack in Stockholm.

    Like

    1. Thank you very much! It’s always good to hear from a fellow jeweller! Congratulations on your bachelors! I begin my BA athe Edinburgh College of Art in September. Always something to learn in our line of work 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I actually went to an interview for my bachelor there, love that city, so beautiful. But I chose konstfack in Stockholm instead. I also had an interview for the royal collage of art for my masters, but I was so exhausted after the first three years that it was not even possible. I wonder if I’d have gotten in though. 😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

